The extra in the ordinary

By Catarina Guimarães

Less is more… decluttering and saying no to consumerism ~ Menos é mais… libertar-me de tralha e ser menos consumista

Leave a comment

20160709-205131.jpg
(PLEASE SCROLL DOWN FOR ENGLISH VERSION)

“Terá sucedido na vida quando tudo o que realmente quiser for apenas o que realmente precisa.” ~ Vernon Howard

Menos é realmente mais…

Viver com menos coisas faz-me sentir mais inteira.
Libertar-me de tralha e esvaziar, nem que seja só um pouco, o espaço em que vivo ajuda-me a sentir-me ligada ao que não se consegue ver…

É essa essência que está connosco em todo o lado, mas que se perde no meio dos objectos. Eu sinto-a a ganhar corpo no espaço vazio.

Acredito piamente que o espaço que habitamos é um reflexo do que se passa dentro de nós e que podemos melhorar activamente o nosso estado de espírito e a nossa saúde quando nos livramos de tralha que se vai acumulando na nossa casa e na nossa vida.

Eu pura e simplesmente não consigo pensar quando estou numa sala caótica, atafulhada de coisas! O meu cérebro fica em curto circuito e o meu corpo começa a implorar a fuga. Espaços com demasiados objectos ou muito desarrumados sufocam-me e roubam-me energia, clareza e paz.

Eu detesto tralha e detesto gastar tempo a arrumar e limpar, logo, prefiro ter o mínimo de coisas à minha volta. Desprender-me de bagagem é das actividades de que mais gosto e dá-me uma sensação de abertura, liberdade e felicidade quase catártica.
Não pensem que vivo como um monge numa caverna, não. Eu tenho muita coisa, apesar de escolher ter muito menos do que todas as outras pessoas que conheço pessoalmente, principalmente no que toca a roupa, acessórios e artigos de decoração.

Mesmo assim é muito mais do que aquilo que realmente preciso para a minha vida. A verdade é que precisamos de tão pouco que até nos custa a imaginar!

Sempre que começo a sentir muita energia estagnada e bloqueada dentro de casa, aquele tipo de energia incómoda e teimosa que não sai nem com todas as janelas abertas ou com maratonas a queimar salva ou óleos essenciais, já sei que tenho que despachar qualquer coisa que anda para aqui encafuada e que já não me serve para nada.

Tenho o hábito de olhar de uma maneira simbólica para a forma como nos relacionamos com as nossas coisas.
Descobri que ter demasiadas escolhas (como no vestuário, por exemplo) não me traz liberdade como seria se esperar, mas ansiedade e indecisão. Quando vivo com apenas o essencial, como quando viajo com pouca bagagem, tenho muito mais tempo para fazer o que realmente me faz feliz e muito mais tempo para cuidar de mim e meditar, ouvir música, ler, passear, escrever, estar com amigos. E sou muito mais produtiva, calma e bem disposta em ambientes arrumados e minimalistas.

Criamos relações fortíssimas com tudo, incluindo objectos inúteis, estragados ou ultrapassados devido a dois grandes motivos: medo do futuro ou incapacidade de largar o passado.

Há já algum tempo que trabalho conscientemente e propositadamente a minha ligação emocional com os objectos e hoje consigo ver com bastante clareza o que me prende a quase todos eles. E escolho libertar-me.

No início foi um pouco difícil mas hoje sai-me com muita naturalidade. Alivia-me, faz-me sentir bem… acredito que é uma benção doar ou vender aquilo que já não me é útil mas que de certo o será para alguém. Gosto de imaginar a vida que um objecto poderá ter, sendo usado diariamente por alguém que o estima e lhe dá valor, em vez de ficar mais uns anos a ser ignorado nas minhas prateleiras ou gavetas.

20160709-204728.jpg

Nos últimos 3 anos vendi, doei e reciclei cerca de metade de toda a minha roupa, acessórios, artigos de decoração e livros. E sabe tão bem! E continuo a fazê-lo… É um projecto em andamento.

São estas as peças das quais me escolho desapegar : tudo o que for velho, estragado, tudo o que já não representa quem eu sou, que não me serve, que não me fique bem, que não tem utilidade, tudo o que não uso há mais de 1 ano ou que, pura e simplesmente, não ADORO.

Quando as dúvidas me assolam, seguro no objecto em questão e pergunto-me: como é que isto torna a minha vida melhor?
E depois imagino a minha vida com o objecto e a minha vida sem ele.
Na grande maioria das vezes, não encontro qualquer diferença!

Com o dinheiro que fiz a vender tudo isto, consegui pagar os meus cursos de reiki (nível 1 e 2), aulas de surf, dois workshops em energia quântica e meditação, algumas massagens, prendas para amigos e cerca de 4 ou 5 livros.

Vender esta tralha enriqueceu a minha vida também devido ao modo como optei por gastar esse dinheiro. Investi em experiências e coisas que dão frutos muito depois de as comprar.
Isso tem um impacto muito maior na minha felicidade e qualidade de vida do que praticamente qualquer objecto que poderia ter comprado.

20160802-012743.jpg
(Alguns dos livros que comprei nos últimos anos e que vou guardar)

Nos últimos anos dou por mim a perguntar “mas eu preciso mesmo disto?” sempre que me sinto tentada a comprar qualquer coisa e a verdade é que a resposta costuma ser um grande “não!”. Sem pena, tensão ou culpa – um decidido “não”. E quando me sinto a nadar num mar de dúvidas, tento identificar as emoções por trás do impulso ou desejo repentino. E quando isso fica claro e me sinto calma, vem-me à cabeça algo como: prefiro comprar estas coisinhas ou passar o mês inteiro a comer biológico? Ou ainda… prefiro comprar isto ou guardar este dinheiro para a minha próxima viagem?
Conseguem adivinhar a resposta que costuma sair? Pois…

E a vida muda, passinho a passinho, dia após dia. Comecei a ficar imune a muitas tentações.

Nunca me considerei uma pessoa muito consumista, apesar de no passado ter comprado muito mais do que aquilo que realmente necessitava. Mas sempre menos do que as minhas amigas ou conhecidas. Muito menos! Desde criança que dou muito valor ao dinheiro e tenho o hábito de preferir qualidade à quantidade. Sempre vi o potencial escondido atrás de meia dúzia de trocos e faz-me confusão quando alguém me diz que quer comprar isto ou aquilo por ser tão barato. “Mas, se não precisas, porque compras? Porque é giro e barato! Mas se não precisas, seja barato ou não, estás a deitar dinheiro fora.”

A questão é que meia dúzia de trocos gastos todas as semanas aqui e ali pode parecer pouco mas, quando fazemos a conta final, dá muito, mas mesmo muito dinheiro. Lembro-me de ter uma colega no liceu que se queixava porque nunca tinha dinheiro para ir connosco viajar no verão mas que tinha o hábito de gastar imenso dinheiro com trivialidades no dia a dia. Um dia disse-lhe que se ela comprasse menos 1 bolo e 1 café por dia durante o ano todo e pusesse esse dinheiro num mealheiro, ia chegar a junho com o valor suficiente para ir curtir umas férias fabulosas com a malta. Mas ela não acreditou e nunca fez a conta. Como é que algo tão barato como um bolinho podia fazer essa diferença? Mas a verdade é que faz. Porque facilmente se transforma em 365 bolinhos e cafés num ano. Desde que me lembro de ser gente que penso no dinheiro assim.

20160709-205215.jpg
Mas nunca fui tão poupada como agora…

Nos últimos 20 meses (desde o início de 2015) comprei menos de 20 peças de roupa e acessórios, incluindo calçado, malas, biquinis, roupa interior, óculos e bijuteria. Recebi mais algumas peças de presente e outras poucas que me deram em 2a mão. Comprei uns poucos livros que queria mesmo ler e que não encontrei nas bibliotecas municipais. Não comprei absolutamente nada para a minha casa, com a excepção de umas plantas e 2 electrodomésticos para substituir os que se tinham estragado e que não foi possível arranjar. Esses foram para reciclar. E acabo de comprar (finalmente!) um novo computador portátil, também para substituir o meu antigo que já tinha morrido há muito tempo.

Isto não significa que tenha perdido a capacidade de apreciar a beleza de uma peça ou de ver o engenho e talento de quem a concebeu e a fez. Apenas não sinto necessidade de a ter só porque me atrai e não me sinto com falta de um objecto só porque gosto dele.

Ganhei uma nova perspectiva sobre todo o desperdício, poluição e desgaste individual e colectivo que todo este consumismo barato e rápido anda a criar no mundo. E tento, tanto quanto possível, ter isso na consciência quando tomo as minhas decisões enquanto consumidora e habitante deste planeta.

E para mim, a vida mostra ter uma fluidez muito melhor assim…

“Inventamos uma montanha de consumo supérfluo, compra-se e descarta-se. Mas o que se gasta é tempo de vida. Porque quando eu compro algo, ou você, não compramos com dinheiro, compramos com o tempo de vida que tivemos de gastar para ter esse dinheiro. Mas com esta diferença: a única coisa que não se pode comprar é a vida. A vida se gasta. E é miserável gastar a vida para perder liberdade.” ~ José Mujica

20160709-204813.jpg
ENGLISH:

“You have succeeded in life when all you really want is only what you really need.” ~ Vernon Howard

Less really is more…

Living with less stuff makes me feel more whole. Decluttering and emptying, even if just a little bit, the space I live in makes me feel connected to what I can’t see… That essence that is with us everywhere we go, but gets lost in between the clutter. I can feel it taking shape in an empty space.

I firmly believe the space we inhabit is a reflection of what is going on within and that we can actively improve our state of mind and our health when we get rid of clutter that keeps piling on in our house and our life.

I just can’t, absolutely can not, think when I’m inside a chaotic room, stuffed with things! My brain starts short-circuiting and my body starts begging me to flee. Spaces with way too many objects or overly messy suffocate me and steal my energy, clarity and peace.

I hate clutter and I hate wasting my time cleaning it so I choose to have the least amount of stuff possible around me. Letting go of baggage is one of my favorite activities and it gives me a feeling of openness, freedom and happiness. It’s quite cathartic, to be honest.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t live like a monk in a cave, no. I have lots of stuff, even though I choose to have a lot less things than all the other people I know, specially when it comes to clothing, accessories and household items.

It’s still a lot more stuff than I need for my life. The truth is, we need so little it’s actually hard to believe!

Whenever I feel a lot of stuck and stalled energy at home, that type of stubborn and uncomfortable energy that just won’t go away even if I keep every window wide open and burn lots of sage or essential oils, I feel like I need to get rid of something that has been stacked around here and has absolutely no purpose or use.

I have this habit of looking at the relationships we have with our things in a very symbolic way.
I’ve found out that having too many options and choices (like with clothing, for instance) doesn’t bring me the expected freedom but lots of anxiety and indecisiveness. When I live with just the bear essentials, like when I’m traveling light, I have a lot more time to dedicate myself to what really brings me joy and I have a lot more time to take care of myself, such as meditating, listening to music, reading, writing or hanging out with friends. And I’m so much more productive, calm and jolly when I stay in minimalistic and tidy spaces.

We create such strong relationships with everything, including objects that are useless, broken or outdated due to two big reasons: fear of the future or inability to let go of the past.

It’s been a while since I started consciously and purposely working on my emotional attachment to things and today I can see quite clearly what binds me to almost all of them. And I choose to let them go.

At the beginning it was a bit difficult but now I do it very naturally. I feel relieved, it makes me feel good… I believe it’s a blessing to donate or sell something that no longer is useful to me but will certainly be of use to somebody else. I enjoy picturing the new life a certain object will get, being used by someone that appreciates it and values it, instead of just being ignored for a few more years on one of my shelfs or in my drawers.

20160709-204728.jpg

For the past 3 years I’ve donated, sold and recycled about half of all my clothes, accessories, household items and books. And it feels so good! I’m still doing it… It’s a work in progress.

This is what I choose to let go of: anything that is outdated, broken, that no longer represents who I am, doesn’t fit me well, doesn’t make me look good, has no purpose, hasn’t been used in over 1 year or anything that I just simply don’t LOVE.

Whenever I feel too overwhelmed to make a decision about keeping a certain object, I hold that item in my hands and ask myself: how does this make my life better? And then I picture my life with the item and after I picture my life without it. For the large majority of things, there’s absolutely no difference!

With the money I made selling all that I managed to pay for my reiki courses (level 1 and 2), surf lessons, two workshops on meditation and quantum energy, a few massages, some gifts for friends and about 4 or 5 books.

Selling that clutter made my life richer, also because of the way I chose to spend the money I got. I invested in experiences and things that keep on giving long after the moment of purchase. That has a much bigger impact on my happiness and quality of life than probably any other object I could have bought.

For the past few years I catch myself asking “but do I really need this?” every time I feel tempted to buy something and, to be honest, most of the time the answer is a big “no!”. Free from pity, tension or guilt – a very assertive “no”. And when I feel I’m drowning in a sea of doubt I try to identify the emotions behind that impulse or sudden desire to buy. When I get clear on that and I feel calm, I just think about something like: would I rather buy this or eat organic all month long? Or even better… would I rather get this or save this money for my next trip?
You can guess the answer to that, right? Right…

And life changes, little by little, day after day.
I began to feel immune to lots of temptations.

I’ve never considered myself to be a big consumerist, even though I had the habit of buying more than I really needed. But still a lot less than my friends or acquaintances. A lot less! Every since I was a child I remember giving a lot of value to money and having the habit of choosing quality over quantity. I guess I’ve always seen a lot of potential even in a few dollars or just cents and it I feels weird to me when people buy this or that just because it’s cheap. “But, if you don’t actually need it, why are you buying it? Because it’s so cute and so cheap! But if you don’t need it, you’re throwing your money away, regardless of being cheap or not.”

The thing is, when you add all of those “just a couple of dollars here and there”, you will realize you’re spending a lot of money weekly or monthly. I remember I had this classmate in high school and she kept complaining because she never had a lot of money to go on vacation with our group of friends during the summer. But she was always spending a lot of money on everyday things and trivialities. One day I told her if she bought one less muffin and coffee everyday and put that money aside in a piggy bank for the whole year of school, she would have enough money for the trip by the time summer arrived. But she wouldn’t believe me and never did the math. How could something so small like a muffin or a cup of coffee make any difference? But it does. Because it quickly turns into 365 muffins and cups of coffee in a year.
Every since I remember being a person I’ve thought about money that way.

20160802-012743.jpg
(Some of the books I’ve bought these last few years. I won’t be selling these for now.)

But I’ve never been this frugal…

For the past 20 months (since the beginning of 2015) I’ve purchased less than 20 pieces of clothing and accessories, including shoes, bags, underwear, bikinis, glasses and jewelry. I got a few more pieces as gifts and a couple more second hand itens from friends. I also got a few books that I really wanted to read but couldn’t find at the local library. I didn’t buy anything for my home, with the exception of a few plants and two appliances to replace the ones that broke down and couldn’t be fixed. Those went to the recycling bin. And I finally bought a new laptop, also to replace my old one that died a long time ago.

This doesn’t mean that I lost the ability to appreciate the beauty of a piece or to acknowledge the talent and genius of those who imagined and created it. I simply don’t feel the need to have it just because I find it appealing and I don’t feel like I’m lacking something just because I liked it.

I’ve gained a new perspective on all this waste, pollution and collective and individual exhaustion that this fast and cheap consumerism has been bringing to the world. And I’ve been trying, was much as possible, to keep that in mind whenever I make my decisions as a consumer and as a resident of this planet.

And to me life seems to flow much better this way…

“We have made up this mountain of pointless consumerism, we buy and we discard. But what we’re wasting is time of life. Because when I buy something, or you, we are not buying it with money, we are buying it with the time of life we had to spend to get that money. But there’s a difference: the only thing you cannot buy is life. Life is spent. And it’s miserable to spend a life to lose freedom.” ~ José Mujica

20160709-205215.jpg

Leave a Reply

